What is TOGAF 9.2 (all you need to know)

TOGAF, which is the abbreviation for “The Open Group Architecture Framework”, is the most cited and reused knowledge book with detailed methods and tools for developing an enterprise architecture within a company.

The very first version of TOGAF was published in 1995 and since then it has developed through the work of more than 300 TOGAF forum members from many different global companies. It, therefore, gives a good overview of common EA practices across many different organizations. The latest TOGAF version, which is 9.2., was published in 2018. It is the first version that addresses Digital Transformation.

Enterprise Architecture includes the whole IT landscape of an organization, including the business processes and capabilities, applications, information systems, and technologies.

To deal with that complexity, TOGAF provides support to document and manage the activities and deliverables required from Enterprise Architecture. Key documents of Enterprise Architecture include blueprints of the TOGAF layers, as-is states, target states, roadmaps, as well as the TOGAF Glossary.

Applying TOGAF methods and tools helps to develop an EA function that is consistent, considers stakeholder requirements, employs best practices, enables demand management, and considers trends and future needs of an organization.

The extensive version of the TOGAF knowledge book is called the “TOGAF Standard” and is available on the TOGAF website. Further, TOGAF provides much more interesting and beneficial content on Enterprise Architecture. As all the content can be confusing at first sight, I have created a more detailed view of what TOGAF is and what is important to know.

Nowadays, many people are certified in TOGAF because they want to deliver the benefits of TOGAF to their organizations or they want to increase their market value. To become certified, one needs to pass level 1 and level 2 of the TOGAF exams. While one needs to study a lot of theory to become TOGAF level 1 certified, the TOGAF Level 2 focuses more on an architectural understanding. To pass both levels without problem, one should follow these 10 simple tips that I summarized for test-takers.

Overview of TOGAF articles on this blog:

Join the Conversation

1 Comment

  1. Way cool! Some extremely valid points! I appreciate you penning this post and the rest of the site is also really good.

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Pin It on Pinterest